Oklahoma Auto Insurance FAQ
- What is the minimum auto liability coverage required in Oklahoma?
- What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage and am I required to have it?
- I was in an accident where the other driver was at-fault, but they did not have liability insurance. Can my rates increase after I file a claim on my own policy?
- Do I have to maintain liability insurance if my car is inoperable and is not being driven?
- My car had original parts on it before the collision. Why is the insurance company allowed to use like kind and quality parts?
- What is comparative negligence?
What is the minimum auto liability coverage required in Oklahoma?
The minimum liability limits in Oklahoma are $25,000 for bodily injury liability for one person, $50,000 for all injuries in one accident and $25,000 for property damage in a collision.
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage and am I required to have it?
This type of coverage will protect you in the event that you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, under-insured motorist or a hit-and-run driver. While you are not required to have this type of coverage, insurance companies are required by law to offer it with every policy. Uninsured motorist coverage will not pay for damages to your vehicle. Property damage repairs would be paid for under collision coverage.
I was in an accident where the other driver was at-fault, but they did not have liability insurance. Can my rates increase after I file a claim on my own auto policy?
No. According to Section 941 of the Oklahoma Insurance Code, a company cannot assign driving record points, cancel, refuse to renew or increase the premium rate for any motor vehicle liability or collision insurance policy for the reason that the insured has been involved in a motor vehicle collision and was not at fault.
Do I have to maintain liability insurance if my car is inoperable and is not being driven?
While you do not have to maintain liability insurance while your car is inoperable, it is recommended that you do if you intend on driving it once it is repaired. Maintaining an owners policy or a non-owners policy will prevent you from paying higher premiums due to a lapse in coverage when obtaining insurance on the repaired vehicle.
My car had original parts on it before the collision. Why is the insurance company allowed to use like kind and quality parts?
After an accident, an insurance companys limit of liability is the actual cash value (ACV) of the property at the time of the loss. Putting new parts on an older vehicle would result in the betterment of the vehicle. If you want new factory parts on your car, the insurance company can require that you pay the difference between the new parts and the like kind and quality parts.
What is comparative negligence?
In the event of a Tulsa auto accident, each partys negligence is based on that partys contribution to the accident. The amount of compensation a motorist is eligible to collect from the insurance company is a direct correlation to the percent at-fault the driver is found in the cause of the accident.
Trusted Lawyers With Proven Results
At The Edwards Law Firm, our auto accident lawyers are committed to helping injury victims recover fair compensation for damages resulting from an Oklahoma car crash. Insurance companies will often try to get those injured to settle for far less compensation than they deserve or require for their losses.
It is critical to discuss your situation with an auto accident attorney who is well-versed in Oklahoma auto insurance law before signing any documents from the insurance company. An injury victim can severely limit the amount of compensation they are eligible to receive by signing documents that they do not understand.
For more information on Oklahoma auto accident insurance or to schedule a confidential, no-obligation consultation with one of our attorneys, call us at 1-800-304-9246.