Teen Drunk Driving Accident Claims
In the state of Oklahoma it is illegal for any individual under the age of 21 to consume alcoholic beverages, unless the individual is on private, non-alcohol-selling premises, with the consent of a legal guardian.
As underage drinkers cause an enormous number of alcohol related traffic collisions, the standards have become stricter and the penalties have become harsher for those caught drinking under the age of 21. Therefore, Oklahoma has become a zero-tolerance state, which means that if a driver under the age of 21 registers with blood alcohol content above 00.00%, they can be cited for driving under the influence.
At The Edwards Law Firm, our auto accident attorneys believe that if an individual has been injured or killed by a drunk driver, no matter what the age, that individual may be eligible to receive compensation for their losses and damages.
For more information, call 1-800-304-9246, or complete the Free Case Review form here.
Teenage Drunken Driver Penalties
While Oklahoma has a zero-tolerance for teenage drunken drivers, there are a number of penalties that a teen driver may experience for operating their vehicle under the influence. Some teenage drunken driver penalties include:
First Conviction: An underage driver caught with a BAC between .01% and .08% is subject to a six month suspension, a fine up to $500.00, and community service. If the BAC is above .08% the driver may be subject to imprisonment for up to six months, a fine of $300.00 to $1,000.00, and license suspension.
Second Conviction: The individual is subject to imprisonment for one to five years, a fine of up to $2,500.00, and license suspension.
Furthermore, there are several penalties which may occur if an individual fails to take a chemical test if pulled over by a law enforcement official.
Other Teenage Drunken Driver Charges
As if it werent already enough, a teen driver caught driving under the influence may be subject to several other charges. Some of these charges include:
- Child endangerment law violations
- Distributing alcohol to other minors
- Minor in possession
- Moving violations
- Possession of false identification
- Soliciting alcohol
- Vehicle maintenance violations
Of course, there are several more charges that could occur based on the teenage drivers actions, and those traveling with the driver at the time.
Under-Age Drunk Driver Insurance Rates
Depending on the insurance agency, they may decide to terminate the policy following an underage driving under the influence charge. However, most insurance agencies will decide to raise the cost of the premium, typically by $100 to $200, as the driver will need a higher risk policy. This raise will usually stay in place for three to five years, and then reduce if the driver has no other citations.
The driver may also be required to furnish the DMV with a SR-22 certificate in order to reinstate a license after it has been suspended. Many insurance agencies furnish this form to the DMV, so it is advised to check with your insurance agency to see if they perform this service.
Contact Our Oklahoma Lawyers Today
Having won over $100 MILLION in successful settlements and verdicts for our clients over the years, our team at The Edwards Law Firm has the determination, resources, and experience to assist you with your specific personal injury litigation. Our team has over 50 years of combined legal experience and is ready to help you begin exploring your legal options today by offering a free no-obligation consultation.
Located in McAlester, Oklahoma City, and Tulsa, Oklahoma, we are able to assist victims of auto accidents throughout the entire state and elsewhere needed.
To seek legal assistance today, call us today at 1-800-304-9246 to speak with a member of our legal team.